Hi Chickadees!

Posted on 08/06/2011. Filed under: Life |

So, how y’all doin? How yer chirren duerin? Having a good summer, I hope. So the reason why I have been MIA is really because of lack of access to a computer. My desktop crapped out in July of ’10, right before the New Orleans trip. And then a ton of things happened in my personal life (new job, Mom had back issues & surgery, a fiance moved in…and out). Yes, I am no longer with John, and that’s all that needs to be said about that. I am happy now, and enjoying life.

The Men (Matt & Dan) and I have started our Supper Club for the summer, pretty much as soon as Matt’s year in college was done. We had it weekly, from May until late July when schedules finally put a damper on the weekly meetings. Things cooked this summer: pineapple salsa stuffed grilled pork tenderloin, calzones, grilled pineapple spears, shrimp & grits again (this time with MUCH better grits, Wade’s Mill, local Virginia grits), fried green tomatoes and bacon-lettuce-fried-green-tomato sandwiches (which, I swear, if I ever have my own restaurant, they are definitely going on the menu), pork stir fry, roasted garlic hummus (which Matt is now addicted to), and grilled beer butt chicken (with my own rub!).

I also purchased an ice cream maker and have made chocolate ice cream and pineapple sorbet. The ice cream was really easy and really good, nice and chocolatey (I used regular ol’ Hershey’s cocoa powder) and decadent with all the heavy cream and whole milk. The pineapple sorbet was super easy, and surprisingly creamy for only being pureed pineapple, sugar and lemon juice (and a couple of optional tablespoons of homemade pineapple vodka).

So since I now have my own laptop, will definitely be updating this blog the more I cook. For the next Supper Club, I’ll be doing the grilled pineapple salsa stuffed pork tenderloin again, hummus for Matt, and haven’t decided on any sides yet. But I have until the 13th to figure it out.

In the meantime, I hope everyone is well, having a great summer, and until next time…

Bon Appetit, Y’All!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Hi Chickadees!”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of a Home Cook Comments RSS Feed

Where do I find an application for the Supper Club? Sounds interesting. I saw your post on Diners Drive-ins and Dives on FB.

Thanks! But I’m completely lost! Which post? About Dot’s?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

