Egg Drop Soup

Posted on 06/26/2010. Filed under: Dinner, Soup |

Nothing sucks more than having a cold in the summertime.  Not that having a cold is ever convenient, but when it’s hot outside, it just seems worse.  I’ve been having a rough week, with personal issues as well as physical issues (vein closures in both thighs, and then the cold), so Mom and I ordered out for Chinese last night for dinner.  The place we ordered from only serves egg drop soup with corn, and I’m sorry but no.  My eggy soup should not come with corn in it.  No way, no how.

So for shits & giggles, and because I was craving it, I poked around on Tastespotting (seems to be my go-to recipe finder, those people are as big a foodie as I am), and found this recipe.  The best part of this recipe is that I had all but one of the ingredients on hand.  The missing ingredient was green onions.  Off I went to Martin’s and scored something else I didn’t think I’d find, but was super-happy.  And it was the last one on the shelf.

CHEERWINE!!

Before I went to Martin’s, I’d defrosted four cups of homemade stock in a hot pot and let it cool to room temperature while I was at the store.  When I got home, I finely minced more garlic than the author says, because I have a cold and I need to open myself up a bit.  And I like garlic.  So I minced…oh…about two large cloves and three smaller ones.  I whisked a tablespoon of cornstarch into the cooled-off stock, added the garlic, soy sauce and ginger.  Then I set the pot on the stove and brought it to a boil.

Then I sliced three green onions on the bias, and whisked four eggs together in a measuring cup.  When the stock had come to a boil, I took the pot off the heat and slowly poured the eggs into the soup, whisking the soup while the eggs were poured in to create ribbons.  I must’ve whisked too quickly because I didn’t get any of the ribbons I wanted.  Oh well, I don’t cook for aesthetics, I cook for taste.  I then drizzled sesame oil into the pot and stirred it up. 

When I poured my soup into my preferred “bowl” (a huge latte mug), I topped with some green onion and some leftover fried noodles from the Chinese place.  I love those noodles.  Highly fattening, highly addictive.  I particularly love the crunch they give soup.

The soup was delicious.  Really good, really filling, and super easy.  And I imagine mine’s not nearly as fattening as the stuff you’d get at your local Chinese place.  The stock I made a while back and kept in my freezer, and I made it from the carcass of a chicken I’d roasted,  celery, onion, carrot, garlic and a few healthy pinches of crushed red pepper, so the stock already had a little bit of a kick.  I seasoned the egg drop soup with white pepper, and tasted it while it was cooking.  Seemed a little thin than what I was expecting, so I added a little more cornstarch but it still worked.

It was so good, and honestly it was just completely on a whim.  I had a full mug of soup and there’s enough leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch.  Nice.  Accompanying my soup was another mug of hot mint tea with honey and Wild Turkey Honey Bourbon

Bon Appetit, y’all!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

